Message from the General and Technical Program Chairs


Welcome to ASAP 2008: the 19th IEEE International Conference on Application-specific Systems, Architectures and Processors. This year’s event takes place in the historic university town of Leuven, Belgium. The history of the event traces back to the International Workshop on Systolic Arrays, organized in 1986 in Oxford, UK. It later developed into the International Conference on Application Specific Array Processors. With its current title, it was organized for the first time in Chicago, USA in 1996. Since then it has alternated between Europe and North-America.

The ASAP conferences provide a forum for researchers and practitioners from academia and industry interested in both the fundamental principles of application-specific computing systems and architectures, as well as their practical adoption in a wide variety of application domains. Results presented at these conferences have had a significant impact on systems architecture, reconfigurable computing, design automation, automatic parallelization, and on application domains such as embedded systems, computer arithmetic, signal and image processing, cryptographic hardware and systems.

After more than 20 years, ASAP is still a thriving conference. In response to the call for papers, 113 submissions were received. These submitted papers came from 25 countries in Asia, Europe, North America, and South America. A rigorous review process resulted in 36 papers for lecture presentations and 17 papers for interactive presentation at the conference. These are complemented by keynote talks by Ruby Lee (Princeton University) and Gert Goossens (Target Compiler Technologies).

We thank the keynote speakers and all the authors who responded to the call for papers. We also thank members of the Program Committee and the External Referees who generously offered their expertise and com­pleted the reviews on time.  We are grateful to our primary sponsors – the IEEE Computer Society and IMEC. We particularly thank the great efforts of Murali Jayapala, Andy Lambrechts, Fred Loosen, Praveen Raghavan, Annemie Stas, Myriam Janowski, Daniella Van Ravesteijn and Marcel Gort. The conference would not have run so smoothly without the selfless contributions of these individuals.


Ingrid Verbauwhede, Diederik Verkest and Steve Wilton



IEEE Catalog number:         
Library of Congress:                   


© 2008 IEEE, Personal use of this material is permitted. However, permission to reprint/republish this material for advertising or promotional purposes or for creating new collective words for resale or redistribution to servers or lists, or to reuse any copyrighted component of this work in other works must be obtained from the IEEE.